Zerniq is a small terraced house situated in the town of Siggiewi a few kilometers away from the Id-Dar tal-Providenza’s complex. It was inaugurated on the 11th February 1997. Four persons live in this house.

Villa Papa Luciani

Villa Papa Luciani was inaugurated on the 8th of September 1987 just four months after the demise of the founder Mgr Azzopardi. It was named after the late Pope John Paul I known also as Papa Luciani or the smiling Pope. It houses two distinct flats: San Martin and San Ġorġ Preca.

Villa Papa Giovanni

1971 saw the start of the building of a second Villa designed to accommodate fifty residents. This home, called Villa Papa Giovanni, was inaugurated by H.G. Mons Michael Gonzi Archbishop of Malta on 19 March 1974. The Villa included a chapel, a hydro theraputic pool, two courtyards, a gymnasium, activity rooms and administrative offices. The building was designed by architect Mr Aurthur Cutugno. To-day it houses four distinct flats: Anġlu Kustodju, Warda, Sant’Antnin and Livia. Unfortunately the hydro theraputic pool is no longer functioning however, the present administration is working to re build it.

In 2002 on the left hand side of the chapel a Museum in commemoration of Mgr Azzopardi was inuagurated by H.G. Mgr Joseph Mercieca Archsbishop of Malta.

The chapel was refurbished in 2005 under the supervison of Architect Dr Conrad Thake. Stained glass designed by artist Luciano Micallef replaced the old chapel window while a crucifix by sculpter Mr Anton Agius adornes the chapel. In 2012 the window panes of the chapel doors were replaced by four fused glass window panes designed and manufactured also by Mr Luciano Micallef.

Villa Mons Gonzi

On the land where till 1962 stood a navy rest camp in the limits of Siggiewi which was later rented by the Govenment to the Malta Catholic Action Movement Mgr Azzopardi built the first residence for persons with disabilities in Malta. The residence which started being built in December 1965 was named Villa Monsinjur Gonzi for the then Archbishop of Malta who gave the sum of LM3,000 (around €7000) which were given to him on the occassion of his 80th birthday.

The building includes a convent for the nuns from the Congregation of Sisters of St Jeanne Antide Thouret who took up residence on the 12th January 1968. They were Id-Dar tal-Providenza’s first support workers aided by volunteers and subsequently by employed lay personnel. The nuns have given full time service since then.

In February 1968 Villa Monsignor Gonzi opened its doors to welcome Id-Dar tal-Providenza’s first group of residents.

In the 80’s this residence was demolished and rebuilt as it stands today and it houses three distinct flats: San Ġużepp, Jasmine and San Nikola.

From 2013 it also houses a multi sensory room.

Museum in honour of Mgr Michael Azzopardi

The Mgr Michael Azzopardi Museum was inaugurated by H.G. Mons Joseph Mercieca Arcbishop of Malta on the occasion of the 15th death anniversary of Mgr Michael Azzopardi, founder of Id-Dar tal-Providenza. In this Museum situated near the home’s main chapel one can see pictures from Mgr Azzopardi life, personal documents and belogings especially his ecclesiastical vestments. There is also a small chapel with a small wooden altar on which Mgr Azzopardi used to say mass in his room before he died. There is also an exhibited stole belonging to Saint John XXIII.

Dun Mikiel Award

The Dun Mikiel Award Award is given by Id-Dar tal-Providenza every year to a person or persons who have worked for and provided support to persons with disability both from within the Home itself as well as from outside it.

Past Recipients of the Mgr. Azzopardi Award:

1995 – Dr Lawrence Gonzi LL.D. and Mrs Mari Lowell
1997 – Mr Paul Mifsud and Mr Lewis Portelli
1998 – Mons. Manuel Curmi
1999 – Fr Charles Fenech O.P.
2000 – Mr Joe Camilleri
2001 – Dr Carmelo Vella, M.D.
2002 – Mrs Victoria Demanuele
2003 – Sr Maddalena and Sr. Fortunata Fava
2004 – Mr John Peel
2005 – Mr John Micallef
2006 – Mr Tonio Bonello and Mr Albert E. Vella
2007 – Mrs Yvonne Eastman
2008 – Mr Alfred Bezzina
2009 – Mr Denis Azzopardi and Boys Lyceum St George Preca College
2010 – Mgr Lawrence Gatt and Fr Joseph Borg Micallef
2011 – Fr Lino Cardona SJ, Mrs Mary Versin and Mrs Blanche Mifsud
2012 – National Commission Persons with Disabilities (Malta)
2013 – Mr Marcel and Mrs Adelina Pisani
2015 – Ms Angela Agius
2016 – Dar il-Kaptan (Respite Services)
2017 – Sisters of Charity
2018 – Mons. Philip Calleja
2019 – Mr Oliver Scicluna and Camilleri & Cuschieri Consulting Engineers
2020 – All Dar tal-Providenza Employees and Gordon Hewitt, Volunteer

Award not given in 1996 and 2014.


“Sanctuary”, a concert of Sacred Music by the St Paul Chamber Ensemble under the direction of Chev Mro Mark Agius was held at St Francis Church in Valletta in aid of Id-Dar tal-Providenza.

Read more